If you require this information in an alternate format, please contact the Accessibility Coordinator at accessibility@northumberland.ca or 1-800-354-7050 ext. 2327



## By-law 23-2024

A By-law to Appoint Municipal Law Enforcement Officers for the County of Northumberland as Authorized Under the Provision of the Police Services Act to Enforce By-law 21-10 and to Repeal By-law 40-2023

**Whereas** By-law 21-10 governs the use of lands known as the Northumberland County Forest; and

**Whereas** pursuant to section 15 of the Police Services Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.15, as amended, the Council of a municipality may appoint persons to enforce the by-laws of the municipality, who are peace officers as defined in that Act the purpose of enforcing the by-laws of the municipality; and

**Whereas** Section 9 of the Municipal Act, 2001, S.O. 2001, c. M.25, provides that a municipality has the capacity, rights, powers, and privileges of a natural person for the purpose of exercising its authority under the Act; and

**Whereas** Section 11 of the Municipal Act, 2001, provides that an upper-tier municipality may pass by-laws respecting matters within the spheres of jurisdiction set out therein;

**Now Therefore Be It Enacted** as a by-law of the Council of the Corporation of the County of Northumberland as follows:

- That the Canadian National Security Solutions Corp. is hereby appointed as the County's agent with respect to enforcement of by-laws in the Northumberland County Forest as more specifically defined in By-law 21-10; and
- 2. **That** the Canadian National Security Solutions Corp. shall, from time to time, designate persons who shall, subject to the approval of the County's Natural Heritage Manager, be deemed appointed as Municipal By-law Enforcement Officers for the purposes of enforcing By-law 21-10 within the Northumberland County Forest; and
- 3. That the County's Natural Heritage Manager is hereby authorized to appoint

If you require this information in an alternate format, please contact the Accessibility Coordinator at accessibility@northumberland.ca or 1-800-354-7050 ext. 2327

for such term as they consider appropriate, but expiring no later than April 30, 2025, individuals pursuant to clauses 1 and 2 above, or to revoke such appointments in their sole discretion, without further amendment to this bylaw; and

- 4. That the Manager of Legislative Services/ Clerk, acting with the advice of the County's Natural Heritage Manager, shall keep an up to date list of individuals appointed pursuant to clause 2, above, and the term of that appointment, generally in the form of Schedule "A" to this By-law, which list may be updated by the Clerk without further amendment to this By-law, and shall be deemed to form part of this By-law; and
- 5. **That** by-law 40-2023 is hereby repealed, but notwithstanding the repeal of by-law 40-2023, appointments of municipal by-law enforcement officers made pursuant to that by-law shall be deemed valid until the earlier of April 30, 2025 or the date they are revoked pursuant to this by-law; and
- 6. **That** this By-law will come into effect on the day of its passing.

<b>That</b> By-law 23-2024 be introduced and be deemed to be read a first, second and third time, passed, signed and sealed this 15 <sup>th</sup> day of May, 2024.
Brian Ostrander, Warden
Maddison Mather, Clerk

If you require this information in an alternate format, please contact the Accessibility Coordinator at accessibility@northumberland.ca or 1-800-354-7050 ext. 2327

## Schedule "A" to By-law 23-2024

Canadian National Security Solutions Corp. staff members appointed as Municipal Law Enforcement Officers for the Corporation of the County of Northumberland to enforce By-Law 21-10 'A By-law to Govern the Use of Lands Known as the Northumberland County Forest':

Name of Officer	Date Appointment Effective	Date of Expiry of Appointment (April 30, 2025 if blank)
Konstantinos Tsibouris	May 17, 2023	
Mark Hayward	May 17, 2023	
Enrico Frumusachi	May 17, 2023	
Moamen Asfoor	November 13, 2023	
Paul Langstaff	May 17, 2023	
Stephanie Foldes	March 1, 2024	
Spencer Votour	March 1, 2024	
Yuvraj Gagandeep	March 1, 2024	
Daniel Da Silva	March 1, 2024	
Connor Rafferty	April 20, 2024	