

# The Corporation of the County of Northumberland Special County Council Meeting Minutes

September 24, 2024, 10:30 a.m.
Council Chambers
555 Courthouse Road, Cobourg, ON K9A 5J6

Members Present: Warden Brian Ostrander

Deputy Warden Olena Hankivsky

Councillor Mandy Martin

Council Alternate Larry Williamson

Members Regrets: Councillor Lucas Cleveland

Councillor Robert Crate Councillor Scott Jibb Councillor John Logel

#### 1. Notices

#### 1.a Accessible Format

If you require this information in an alternate format, please contact the Accessibility Coordinator at accessibility@northumberlandcounty.ca or 1-800-354-7050 ext 2327.

#### 1.b Meeting Format

The hybrid meeting model was not available for this Special County Council meeting. The public were invited to attend in-person in Council Chambers.

#### 2. Call to Order

Warden Brian Ostrander called the meeting to order at 10:31 a.m.

#### 2.a Territorial Land Acknowledgement

#### 3. Approval of the Agenda

3.a Agenda dated September 24, 2024

Council Resolution 2024-09-24-643

Moved by Deputy Warden Olena Hankivsky
Seconded by Councillor Mandy Martin

"That the Special County Council agenda for Tuesday, September 24, 2024 be approved."

Carried

#### 4. Declaration of Interest

- No disclosures
- 5. Presentations

N/A

6. Adoption of Minutes

N/A

7. Business arising from the Minutes

N/A

8. Communications

N/A

9. Determination of Items Requiring Separate Discussion

N/A

10. Adoption of Items Not Requiring Separate Discussion

N/A

11. Consideration of Items Requiring Separate Discussion

N/A

#### 12. Enactment By-laws

N/A

#### 13. New Business

N/A

#### 14. Proclamations

N/A

#### 15. Media Questions

#### 16. Closed Session

Council Resolution 2024-09-24-644

Moved by Deputy Warden Olena Hankivsky
Seconded by Councillor Mandy Martin

"That this Council proceed with the next portion of the meeting being closed to the public at 10:34 a.m.; and

**Further That** the meeting is closed to the public as permitted under the Municipal Act Section 239 (3.1) in order to address matters pertaining to the education and training of Council Members ('Indigenous Knowledge Sharing Session by Chief Taynar Simpson, Alderville First Nation'), and that Chief Taynar Simpson, Jennifer Moore, Scott, Berry, Cheryl Sanders, and other invited Northumberland County staff remain present."

Note: County staff attendee list is attached to meeting minutes

Carried

#### 17. Motion to Rise and Results from Closed Session

17.a Council Education and Training - 'Indigenous Knowledge Sharing Session by Chief Taynar Simpson, Alderville First Nation'

Council Resolution 2024-09-24-645

Moved by Council Alternate Larry Williamson
Seconded by Councillor Mandy Martin

"That this Council rise from Closed Session at 11:22 a.m."

Carried

#### **Reporting Out:**

During this closed portion of the meeting, an education and training session was held, where members of Council and invited staff participated in Indigenous knowledge learning, provided by Chief Taynar Simpson of Alderville First Nation.

#### 18. Confirming By-law

18.a A By-law to confirm the proceedings of a meeting of County Council held on September 24, 2024

Council Resolution 2024-09-24-646

Moved by Deputy Warden Olena Hankivsky

Seconded by Council Alternate Larry Williamson

"That By-law 35-2024 being a By-law to confirm the proceedings of a Special meeting of County Council held on September 24, 2024 be introduced, be deemed to be read a first, second and third time, be passed, signed and sealed."

Carried

#### 19. Adjournment

Council Resolution 2024-09-24-647

Moved by Councillor Mandy Martin

Seconded by Deputy Warden Olena Hankivsky

"That Council adjourn at 11:23 a.m."

Carried

Brian Ostrander, Warden		
Cheryl Sanders Deputy Clerk		



## Northumberland September 24, 2024 Closed Session County Council Meeting Attendee Sheet

### 'Indigenous Knowledge Sharing Session'

Name	Name
Adam McCue	Shayna Tinson
Alicia Dave	Shola Yusuf-Aliju
Amanda Punit	Steve Roy
Andrea Nicholson	Susan Brown
Ashley Workman	Thomas Flynn
Blythe Elliott	Tim Kroekenstoel
Bobbie Arbuckle	Tom Walton
Brooke Tackaberry	
Chanthuru Pushpathas	
Christopher Humpryes	
Crystal Julia	
Denise Marshall	
Digvijay Modha	
Jennifer Heslinga	
Kate Campbell	
Katie Bruinsma	
Katie Kennedy	
Keagan Philion	
Keith Barret	
Kelsey Saunders	
Kendra Kerr	
Lauren Dolan	
Leyla Attis	
Lisa Ainsworth	
Lisa Smith	
Lorrie Slade	
Madison Stange	
Martina Labelle	
Matt Mair	
Melody Elsmore	
Michael Watt	
Nicole McArthur	
Peter Deshane	
Rene Bergeron	