

Legislative Services

Municipal Offices: 66 Charlotte Street
Port Colborne, Ontario L3K 3C8 • www.portcolborne.ca

T 905.228.8031 **F** 905.834.5746

<u>E</u> <u>charlotte.madden@portcolborne.ca</u>

December 5, 2024

Via Email: justin.trudeau@parl.gc.ca

The Honourable Justin Trudeau
Prime Minister of Canada
Office of the Prime Minister
80 Wellington Street
Ottawa, ON K1A 0A2

Via Email: premier@ontario.ca

The Honourable Doug Ford Premier of Ontario Legislative Building, Queen's Park Toronto, ON M7A 1A1

Dear Hon. Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada and Hon. Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario

Re: City of Port Colborne Support the Township of McGarry Redistribution of Land Transfer Tax

Please be advised that, at its meeting of November 26, 2024 the Council of The Corporation of the City of Port Colborne supported the resolution from the Township of McGarry regarding Redistribution of Land Transfer Tax.

Please find attached the Township of McGarry correspondence for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Charlotte Madden City Clerk

ec: Peter Bethlenfalvy, Ontario Minister of Finance
Paul Calandra, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing
Vance Badawey, Member of Parliament, Niagara Centre
Dean Allison, Niagara West MP
Chris Bittle, St. Catharines MP
Tony Baldinelli, Niagara Falls MP
Jeff Burch, Niagara Centre MPP
Wayne Gates, Niagara Falls MPP
Sam Oosterhoff, Niagara West MPP
Jennifer Stevens, St. Catharines MPP
Federation of Canadian Municipalities
Association of Municipalities of Ontario
Ontario Municipalities



November 12, 2024

Resolution No. 333/2024

THE CORPORATION OF THE TOWNSHIP OF MCGARRY P.O. BOX 99, VIRGINIATOWN, ON. P0K 1X0

10000

SECONDED BY Trancine Plans

Whereas municipalities face growing infrastructure needs, including roads, bridges, public transit, water systems, and other critical services, which are essential to community well-being and economic development; and

Whereas the current sources of municipal revenue, including property taxes and user fees, are insufficient to meet these increasing demands for infrastructure investment; and

Whereas the Province of Ontario currently collects the Land Transfer Tax (LTT) on property transactions in municipalities across the province, generating significant revenue that is not directly shared with municipalities; and;

Whereas the Federal Government collects the Goods and Services Tax (GST) on property transactions, a portion of which could be directed to municipalities to address local infrastructure needs; and

Whereas redistributing a portion of the Provincial Land Transfer Tax and GST to municipalities would provide a predictable and sustainable source of funding for local infrastructure projects without creating a new tax burden on residents or homebuyers; and

Whereas a redistribution of a portion of the existing Land Transfer Tax and GST would allow municipalities to better plan and invest in long-term infrastructure initiatives, supporting local economic growth and improving the quality of life for residents;

- 1. Now Therefore Be It Hereby Resolved That The Council of the Corporation of the Township of McGarry formally requests the Provincial Government to consider redistributing a portion of the Land Transfer Tax collected on property transactions to municipalities; and
- 2. **Be It Further Resolved That** The Council of the Corporation of the Township of McGarry calls on the Federal Government to allocate a percentage of the GST collected on property sales to municipalities; and
- 3. **Be It Further Resolved That** this redistribution of the Land Transfer Tax and GST should be structured to provide predictable and sustainable funding to municipalities, allowing for better long-term planning and investment in infrastructure projects that benefit local communities, thus ensuring that local governments receive affair share of the revenue to address critical infrastructure needs; and

- 4. **Be It Further Resolved That** copies of this resolution be forwarded to Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, Premier Doug Ford, the Ontario Minister of Finance, the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, local Members of Parliament (MPs) and Members of Provincial Parliament (MPPs); and
- 5. **Be It Further Resolved That** copies of this resolution be forwarded to all 444 Municipalities in Ontario, the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM), and the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) for their endorsement and advocacy.

Defeated	/ Carried Bonito Culhaine Mayor	
Mayor		
Recorded Vote	Requested by	
	YES	NO
Mayor Bonita Culhane	***************************************	
Councillor Louanne Caza		
Councillor Elaine Fic		
Councillor Annie Keft		
Councillor Francine Plante		